Follow Us on:

  • Home
  • Yoga Teacher Training

How to Open Your Heart Chakra

Your fourth chakra, your heart chakra is one of the chakras that we all focus on most. Your heart chakra is the home of unconditional love. When this chakra is blocked, we may feel fear, have relationship stress, or an inability to offer and receive love from others. Here are some tips on how to open your heart chakra.

What is your heart chakra?

Your fourth chakra is also called anahata in Sanskrit, and is associated with the colors green and pink, and the element air. It’s located exactly where you guessed: right around your heart. When this chakra is open, you will feel joy and compassion for others. You will also feel a boost in energy and positivity, which we could all use! If you want to learn more about the other six chakras, check out our post on all seven.

Heart Chakra Meditation

 Meditation is such a great way to heal your chakras. For a simple heart chakra meditation, either sit or lay down and close your eyes. Breathe deeply and focus on the space around your heart. You can picture either a green or pink light glowing and spreading out through your whole body.

You can also use essential oils like lavender, rose, and jasmine in another carrier oil, or in lotion. Inhale the scent and breathe deeply, focusing on your heart space.

Heart Chakra Yoga Poses

There are so many wonderful heart-opening yoga poses that you can do.

  • Upward facing Dog: To do this pose that we incorporate in our Sun A and Sun B sequence, start from a low plank position, or you can start with your belly on your mat, your hands by your lower ribs, and your feet about hip’s width distance apart. On an inhale, press into your hands and feet, lifting your chest and rolling your shoulders back and down.
  • Cat and Cow: Cat and Cow poses are great not just for your spinal mobility, but for your heart chakra. Start in a tabletop position with your hands in line with your shoulders. On an inhale, press your belly toward the ground, arching your back so that your head lifts. Use your hands to pull the mat toward you. On your exhale, round your back, tucking your chin and pressing the mat away from you. Move with your breath through the poses.
  • Wheel: Wheel is an incredible heart-opening pose. Start on your back, with your knees bent and your feet directly under your knees, keeping them about hip-width apart. Your palms will snuggled by your ears. Take an inhale to prepare, and on your exhale, push through your hands and feet to lift you up. Keep a slight bend in your knees as you straighten your arms, keeping your elbows tucked in, and making sure your knees don’t splay out. Release your head and neck and hold the pose for a minimum of five breaths, and be careful when you lower yourself to the floor again.

Heart Chakra Affirmations

Affirmations are an excellent way to practice self-care, and they are especially great for your heart chakra. You could even repeat these affirmations during your meditation, when you wake up, or any time you need a little pick-me-up. You can say or write any one of the following affirmations:

  • I am loved
  • I forgive myself and others
  • I open my heart to love
  • Love is everywhere
  • I am worthy of love

Use these tips to help heal and open your heart chakra and open yourself up to love, community, and joy!

There is no better way to learn about the practice you love than through a yoga teacher training.

Join us and give yourself the opportunity to rest, heal, shed, and grow.